approaching spring

cardinal_blogTomorrow is the first day of Spring!  I realize that parts of the US are still covered in SNOW. And I remember when we lived in Western Massachusetts there was no counting on spring until well into May.  But here in the South, my forsythia is in bloom, the astilbe is popping up out of the earth and the frogs are chirping away on the trail that I love.

The harbinger of Spring that makes me smile the most, though, is the sound of birds!  They are singing in the early dawn, gathering in droves around my bird feeders and flying back and forth in the woods behind my home with their mates.  Soon, there will be nests and babies to watch!  I love it.

So far this spring I’ve noticed cardinals, nuthatches, downy woodpeckers, tufted titmice, American goldfinches, mourning doves and an adorable little brown and white bird that I can’t identify.  I could really spend hours observing them flit about.

Over the past couple of years I have collected a few used and abandoned nests.  I adore them and have them placed around my house.  One of them is a little tube like nest made out of leaves.  A few months ago I set up some poster board in my dining room, where the light is awesome, and photographed a few of the little gems.  Here are three of my favorites:

nest 3 blog nest 2 blog nest 1 blog

 

I used existing light and a fairly shallow depth of field to capture the beauty and detail of the nests.  Aren’t they lovely?  I can’t imagine how a bird can accomplish such a thing.  I’d love to set up a time lapse camera to capture the feat!

I think I’ll photograph the little tube nest and maybe someone out there can help me identify it!

Have a great first day of Spring!

 

Leave a Reply

